Gearing up a fresh 80 Hunter in the brave new world of 3.3


Well here I am again.

My Troll Hunter just made level 80, joining the ranks of the other 80’s on my character page.

That part of the journey is over, and another has just begun.

The whole point of leveling this character was to run instances with friends. For that I need a bit of gear. I wrote up a guide shortly after Wrath launched that showed how I could gear a character without ever setting foot in an instance. If you have not seen it, and are truely new to Huntering check it out, it has good information on the hit cap as well as gem and enchant choices.

While that guide will still work, and for the most part I will follow it before I start running heroics, the looking for dungeon feature has greatly changed how I look at gearing up. I am not truly interested in pugging with my new Hunter, though I know some badge farming is in my future. Hopefully with friends, but we shall see.

With that in mind I decided to sit down and make up a list of the major upgrades I could manage to pick up  through various means that did not involve raiding.

These include:

  • Quest rewards (unless the quest requires raiding)
  • Bind on Equip drops
  • Bind on Equip craftable items (even those with insane mats costs)
  • Drops from five player instances, both normal and heroic
  • Gear purchased with badges (although if an item costs the same or more than a better one I left it out, I’ll just buy the better one.)

Since I went to all the trouble of making this list I figure I would toss it out there on the off-chance it might be of use to someone who wanders past.

Not to mention if I post it here it’s hard to misplace my list :-)

Back:

 
264
 
Emblem of Frost (50)
 
219
 
Devourer of Souls – The Forge of Souls (N)
 
213
 
Emblem of Valor (25)
 
200
 
Erekem – The Violet Hold (H)
 
183
 
Maiden of Grief – Halls of Stone (N)
 
200
 
Leatherworking BoE

Chest:

 
264
 
Emblem of Frost (95)
 
245
 
Leatherworking BoE
 
232
 
Emblem of Triumph (50)
 
232
 
Marwyn – Halls of Reflection (H)
 
219
 
The Captain’s Chest – Halls of Reflection (N)
 
219
 
Champion’s Cache – Trial of the Champion (H)
 
245
 
Leatherworking BoE
 
232
 
Marwyn – Halls of Reflection (H)
 
200
 
Vendor
 
200
 
Zone drop – Drak’Tharon Keep

Feet:

 
264
 
Leatherworking BoE
 
264
 
Leatherworking BoE
 
226
 
Leatherworking BoE
 
232
 
Falric – Halls of Reflection (H)
 
232
 
The Captain’s Chest – Halls of Reflection (H)
 
213
 
Emblem of Valor (40)
 
200
 
Vendor
 
219
 
Falric – Halls of Reflection (N)
 
226
 
Leatherworking BoE
 
219
 
Champion’s Cache – Trial of the Champion (H)
 
200
 
Keristrasza – The Nexus (H)
 
200
 
Lavanthor – The Violet Hold (H)
 
200
 
PvP Reward
 
200
 
Champion’s Cache – Trial of the Champion (N)

Finger:

 
251
 
Quest
 
245
 
Emblem of Triumph (35)
 
232
 
Scourgelord Tyrannus – Pit of Saron (H)
 
219
 
Forgemaster Garfrost – Pit of Saron (N)
 
213
 
Emblem of Valor (25)
 
200
 
Chrono-Lord Epoch – The Culling of Stratholme (H)
 
200
 
Vendor
 
200
 
The Black Knight – Trial of the Champion (N)
 
187
 
Jewelcrafting BoE
 
200
 
World Drop
 
200
 
World Drop
 
200
 
Jewelcrafting BoE
 
187
 
General Bjarngrim – Halls of Lightning (N)

Hands:

 
251
 
Emblem of Frost (60)
 
232
 
The Captain’s Chest – Halls of Reflection (H)
 
232
 
Emblem of Triumph (30)
 
226
 
Emblem of Conquest (28)
 
219
 
The Black Knight – Trial of the Champion (H)
 
219
 
Marwyn – Halls of Reflection (N)
 
200
 
Cyanigosa – The Violet Hold (H)
 
200
 
Gal’darah – Gundrak (H)
 
187
 
Svala Sorrowgrave – Utgarde Pinnacle (N)
 
200
 
Eadric’s Cache – Trial of the Champion (N)
 
200
 
Prince Taldaram – Ahn’kahet: The Old Kingdom (H)

Head:

 
245
 
Emblem of Triumph (75)
 
251
 
Emblem of Frost (95)
 
219
 
The Black Knight – Trial of the Champion (H)
 
232
 
Emblem of Triumph (50)
 
232
 
Devourer of Souls – The Forge of Souls (H)
 
232
 
Bronjahm – The Forge of Souls (H)
 
245
 
Emblem of Triumph (75)
 
219
 
Scourgelord Tyrannus – Pit of Saron (N)
 
200
 
King Dred – Drak’Tharon Keep (H)
 
187
 
Cache of Eregos – The Oculus (N)
 
200
 
Drakkari Elemental – Gundrak (H)
 
200
 
Ingvar the Plunderer – Utgarde Keep (H)

Legs:

 
264
 
Leatherworking BoE
 
251
 
Emblem of Frost (95)
 
264
 
Leatherworking BoE
 
226
 
Emblem of Conquest (39)
 
232
 
Emblem of Triumph (50)
 
232
 
Scourgelord Tyrannus – Pit of Saron (H)
 
200
 
Eadric’s Cache – Trial of the Champion (N)
 
219
 
Marwyn – Halls of Reflection (N)
 
219
 
Scourgelord Tyrannus – Pit of Saron (N)
 
200
 
Gal’darah – Gundrak (H)
 
232
 
PvP Reward
 
174
 
Vendor
 
200
 
Sjonnir The Ironshaper – Halls of Stone (H)
 
200
 
Leatherworking BoE
 
200
 
Hadronox – Azjol-Nerub (H)
 
200
 
Varos Cloudstrider – The Oculus (H)

Main hand/ off hand: (much better to use a 2 hander)

 
219
 
The Black Knight – Trial of the Champion (H)
 
232
 
Devourer of Souls – The Forge of Souls (H)
 
232
 
Bronjahm – The Forge of Souls (H)
 
232
 
The Captain’s Chest – Halls of Reflection (H)
 
200
 
Vendor

 

Neck:

 
232
 
Forgemaster Garfrost – Pit of Saron (H)
 
219
 
Confessor’s Cache – Trial of the Champion (H)
 
226
 
Emblem of Conquest (19)
 
200
 
Jewelcrafting BoE

Ranged:

 
232
 
Ick – Pit of Saron (H)
 
219
 
The Captain’s Chest – Halls of Reflection (N)
 
219
 
Scourgelord Tyrannus – Pit of Saron (N)
 
219
 
The Black Knight – Trial of the Champion (H)
 
200
 
Ingvar the Plunderer – Utgarde Keep (H)

Shoulder:

 
232
 
Falric – Halls of Reflection (H)
 
232
 
Emblem of Triumph (30)
 
219
 
Confessor’s Cache – Trial of the Champion (H)
 
232
 
Forgemaster Garfrost – Pit of Saron (H)
 
200
 
Meathook – The Culling of Stratholme (H)

Trinkets:

 
264
 
Emblem of Frost (60)
 
245
 
Emblem of Triumph (50)
 
200
 
Emblem of Heroism (40)
 
200
 
Quest
 
200
 
Cyanigosa – The Violet Hold (H)
 
232
 
Devourer of Souls – The Forge of Souls (H)
 
200
 
Confessor’s Cache – Trial of the Champion (N)
 
245
 
Emblem of Triumph (50)
 
200
 
Keristrasza – The Nexus (H)
 
200
 
King Dred – Drak’Tharon Keep (H)
 
200
 
Quest

Two hander:

 
232
 
Marwyn – Halls of Reflection (H)
 
251
 
Quest
 
219
 
Devourer of Souls – The Forge of Souls (N)
 
219
 
Confessor’s Cache – Trial of the Champion (H)

 

Waist:

 
264
 
Emblem of Frost (60)
 
226
 
Leatherworking BoE
 
232
 
Scourgelord Tyrannus – Pit of Saron (H)
 
219
 
Ick – Pit of Saron (N)
 
226
 
Emblem of Conquest (28)
 
226
 
Leatherworking BoE
 
200
 
King Ymiron – Utgarde Pinnacle (H)
 
200
 
The Black Knight – Trial of the Champion (N)
 
200
 
Zone drop – Gundrak
 
200
 
Ionar – Halls of Lightning (H)
 
200
 
The Black Knight, Champion’s Cache – Trial of the Champion (H);
 
200
 
The Black Knight, Champion’s Cache – Trial of the Champion (H);
 
187
 
Salramm the Fleshcrafter – The Culling of Stratholme (N)
 
128
 
Leatherworking BoE
 
219
 
Forgemaster Garfrost – Pit of Saron (N)

Wrist:

 
245
 
Leatherworking BoE
 
232
 
Devourer of Souls – The Forge of Souls (H)
 
213
 
Gluth, Grobbulus – Naxxramas
 
213
 
Emblem of Valor (60)
 
219
 
Scourgelord Tyrannus – Pit of Saron (N)
 
232
 
Ick – Pit of Saron (H)
 
200
 
Keristrasza – The Nexus (H)
 
200
 
Confessor’s Cache – Trial of the Champion (N)
 
200
 
Tribunal Chest – Halls of Stone (H)
 
187
 
Leatherworking BoE
 
219
 
Confessor’s Cache – Trial of the Champion (H)
 
200
 
Novos the Summoner – Drak’Tharon Keep (H)
 
200
 
Leatherworking BoE
 
187
 
Ionar – Halls of Lightning (N)
23 Responses

  1. You can buy the t9-triumph-chest now without a token?

    Anyway, I thought about creating such a list for my freshly dinged shaman and I came to the conclusion that there really is no need to think about such a list. Do the random heroic every day or maybe some random heroics and after 2-4 weeks you will have 1 t10-peace (60 frostbadges = 2 x 15 random daily heroic, less if you can do the weekly, I prefer shoulders over hands), 4 t9-pieces (210 = ~40 random heroics), waist and neck and a trinket and a ring (another 100 = ~20 random heroics). Sure, people will call you m&s while you do this but there really is no point in buying items which you will replace 2-3 weeks later for sure.
    If you got lucky drops for all the other slots (back is always a problem for me, but if you want to do BGs then try to get enough honor for the iLvl 226-back).
    Once you’re there you’re ready for at least ToC10/25. 4 weeks later ICC10/25.

    And remember: Praise the loot-gods with proper (and costly) enchants and epic gems because then they will give you your next upgrade the day after ;)

    • Nice catch, I had that in from a previous edit and somehow missed removing it. It’s gone now.

      As to how I am going to grab stuff I will likely go with T-10 hands and gloves and two pieces of T-9 (chest, head, or legs) depending on what drops while I am running instances for the gear.

      One thing I do know is I plan to farm all my badges first, upgrading with drops as I go, until I can make one trip to the vendor and be done.

      That way nothing that actually drops for me goes to waste.

  2. For completeness’s sake, the Silvery Sylvan Stave (alliance version) is a nice epic ilvl200 two hander which you can get entirely solo from the Argent Tournament. Comparable to the Staff of Trickery from VH(h), as I recall. Probably irrelevant now due to the drops from ToC5 and the Icecrown 5-mans, but it was nice back before Marrowstrike existed :) and it was nice to be able to grind it out on my own.

    • You know, I really should have looked at the Argent Tourney as a way to gear up.

      I simply despise jousting, so I quite honestly for got they even existed. (I was making the list for myself in the beginning)

      I’ll have to go back and take a look at the drops from there and see what is to be had. Personally though, I will likely be using the Icer Barbed Spear from the Ampitheatre of Anguish until I get a drop.

    • Yeah I hated the jousting too. I actually got pretty stubborn about it and only did the non-jousting dailies for a large part of it. Took me a little longer that way, but saved me a lot of frustration ;) But then it seemed like they changed something in the way the server handled higher ping times or something, and I stopped minding it so much. Early on, I kept getting ‘charged’ by the npc before it said I was in range to charge them myself. Grrrr.

      Anyway, if you’re interested; what I used before the stave was the Whale-Stick Harpoon… it only requires revered with the Kaluak and it is a 187 blue with a nice big 40 hit rating among other good stats, nice for initially getting hit capped.

    • Actually looking back at my first “I just hit 80 and I am gearing up” post from 12/15/08 I had the Whale Stick harpoon also when I hit 80 the first time.

      I think I changed over to dual wielding a pair of savage cobalt slicers before they got nerfed, then a pair of broken stalactites afterward.

      As of now with a few odds and ends I am sitting well over the 99 hit rating required for heroics with 3/3 careful aim. Then again if I picked up[ the harpoon I could swap out both rings for something else. I suppose it all depends on what drops (or fails to) for me as I start running heroics to gear up.

    • Nice, I never did get around to getting the slicers before they were nerfed.
      And I misspoke slightly; between the harpoon and the silvery stave for a while I was using the Runeblade of Demonstrable Power (200 blue 2h sword, revered with Ebon Blade), which if you don’t need the hit rating is quite a lot better. As I recall, the spreadsheet put the runeblade right up there with some epics, but I went for the stave anyway because an extra 1,000hp was comforting to have :) It’s really stupid looking though, IMHO :P
      What can I say, I’m a sucker for 2handers that I can obtain solo; I went through them all…

    • ^The runeblade is stupid looking, not the Silvery Sylvan Stave.

  3. Small nitpick, but Drape of the Skyborn most definitely requires raiding. That quest is for 25 man Algalon :)

    • Thanks for the heads up, Removed from the shopping list.

      I looked through and found one other that requires raiding, the Ashen Verdict rep ring. I knew up front that it required rep gathered in ICC, but that is doable if you can find a group farming the entryway trash for rep. Those are pretty common on my server.

  4. As usual, great post. I will keep this handy and will be taking a look at your link (to “earlier gear”) shortly. I have a long way with my hunter as I just hit 48 yesterday. However, here’s one thing I can’t believe I’m saying… a guildie priest and I did randoms… and it was a ball as a hunter. Some stuff took a little getting used to… but I took some tips from your/other’s posts: consider laying frost trap in front of healer, put pet on passive (I only did this because I mentioned at some point this was my first instance run as hunter… tank said I was doing good but keep an eye on my pet — not sure that meant my pet was causing a problem or just a general statement.

    Anyhow, thanks again for all this great info.

    P.S. I have not been online for a while… was out sick for quite a while. Hope you guys are all doing well.

  5. Thanks for the list, it’s very useful for my newly minted lvl 80 hunter :)

  6. Did you really mean to include a hit rating/spellpower trinket on the list? Perhaps you really meant to link the Herk. War Token?

  7. And the engraved gargoyle femur is great for my boomkin set… but I wouldn’t want it for my hunter.

    And you might think about the pvp items as well. Every time your side has wintergrasp, you get stone keeper shards in pve dungeons. You can trade in shards for honor. 30 shards = 2k honor. 600-700 shards = a pvp piece. And the wintergrasp commendation badges are account bound. Today my hunter’s 900 accumulated shards bought my newly dinged priest a 264 level cloak. It wasn’t itemized perfectly, but it was a tasty upgrade over the 200 level wispcloak she was wearing earlier. PvP items don’t have require pvp. ;)

  8. /sigh.

    This is what I get for not double checking all the links before I post.

    Wowhead and Lootrank were apparently keying in on the hit rating on both those peices.

    I’ll go back through all this stuff and find anything else that should never have made it.

  9. Alrighty, I went through and got rid of all the stuff that never should have made it in in the first place.

    Once I get a chance (going out to dinner with my lovely wife in like 10 minutes) I will look into other items from PvP and Champions seals.

    This is what I get for not proofreading a post that I wrote at 4 am before letting it go live :P

  10. Proofreading? Isn’t that what your readers are for?

    • LoL, appaerently.

      I have been known to let a thing or two slide in the past, but damn… between what my readers found (thanks readers for keeping me honest) and what I found on second pass there were like 10 errors.

      In a post ment to help new folks fear up that is just not acceptable.

  11. I calculated out dps values for some easily accessible trinkets over in the comments at Stabilized Effort Scope, using Rilgon’s stat values… thought it might be relevant to this topic.
    http://www.stabilizedeffortscope.com/?p=1356&cpage=1#comment-11739

  12. I got a nice dagger caled Heartshiver on FoS (N) the other day http://www.wowhead.com/?item=49789

  13. Thanks for the great post. I have been working on compiling a wish list for my hunter. I used ideas from your list compared with hunterloot.com to set some goals to go after.

  14. Been a while since this post, but I wanted you to know that I still found it useful for my newly 80 hunter. Thanks for the work, and don’t sweat a few errors with a good group of readers. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 483 other followers

