Trying to find my place


In case you hadn’t noticed Hallows End has, well, ended.

I have not been back on any of my level 80′s since.

Actually, writing this reminds me I need to log into them and finish The Great Wrath of the Litch King Bank Purge. Thats not the point though.

The point is I have given up on my Hunters, at least for now. 

.

I have written before about how the transition to focus has not gone well for me. It may be because I have played a mana based Hunter for so long that I have a paradigm already set of “what it should be”.

I’m old, and us old folks tend to get set in our ways. *waves cane and talks about taming The Rake to get a faster attack speed for his cat*

At any rate, the reasons why don’t matter in the big scheme of things. When Hunters changed to focus I tried, really tried to like it. After giving it a month or so to try to adapt I found I simply was not having fun playing them.

I could sit here and drop a three thousand word manifesto in your lap about my thoughts on the Hunter changes. It would be pointless though. 

Like screaming into a vacuum.

You would either agree, disagree, or really not give a crap, but in the end I would just be getting myself worked up over something I have no control over. 

.

The bottom line is I pay my $15 a month to have fun.  I always said if it quits being fun I would simply quit playing. 

While I am still enjoying the game overall I wish Blizzard had not made the changes.

 Perhaps it was in the best interest of the game overall, I don’t know. What I do know is that Huntering is no longer fun for me so I am done with it.

Moving on.

.

I then took my Druid for a spin.

Actually several spins, in all four specs.

Playing as a cat was fun, especially in battlegrounds. I enjoyed it and will keep playing that way in the future.

The whole creeping around was a blast, as was dashing ahead to pop out and drop heals on a flag carrier.

Lets just say Feral has earned itself a spot amongst my two permanent specs.

.

Playing as a bear though, that was a different story. I might have simply gotten a series of bad groups, but most likely I simply suck at bear tanking. I found myself rage starved and cooldown locked while Dps routinely pulled off of me.

Then again maybe it was just a blue geared Bear trying to find his way in the wild world of the LFD. Most folks are so used to pull it all and AoE it down that it may not have occurred to them that I can’t handle that yet. I have neither the gear nor the skill.

Bear tanking is definitely still on my plate, and is currently planned to be my second spec, along with my PvP kitty. One thing I have learned though, I will not go playing in the LFD as a max level tank again. Not till I have run with guildies many times, and maybe not even then.

.

Well, then I grabbed my spell power gear out of the bank and went Boomkin / Resto for a while. It was, shall we say, interesting. 

Boomkin was kinda fun I guess. The spec seems to be built around casting one spell like five times to get eclipse, then switching to another for about ten times to get another eclipse going the other way. There was the occasional other spell to work in there as well.

I found that having everything I was regularly casting on a fairly long cast timer just kind of annoyed me.

I might be doing it wrong, in fact I likely am.

.

Popping over to resto had the advantage of short queue times, which was nice.

Running a few heroics I found that I miss my tree form far more than I had realized. Healing was far less fun for me when I had to stare at the Night Elf form that I have always not cared for.

That and it felt a lot like I was healing on my Priest, just with different shinies appearing around my targets.

Oddly if I had wanted to heal on a Night Elf Priest I would have rolled one.

Go figure.

I am putting him on the shelf for a while. If I find I like the feel of a Worgen Druid I will race change him and get him to 85. If not, i guess I could use another profession bot.

.

I sat and pondered my next move.

My first thought was to go take my Death Knight for a spin. I know there had been many changes to the class since I last really tried playing it, and thought maybe I would like to try it out.

I ran a few heroics as Dps, and found it a relatively fun playstyle. I am definitely planning on leveling my DK through Cataclysm and give it an honest go at 85.

One thing my recent Bear tank (why do I keep trying to write “Beer tank”?) experience taught me was that the LFD is not  where I want to try to learn to tank. The only exception being normal instances, tanking for those who are still leveling. Possibly even throwing out a macro something like:

Hello, I will be you tank for the run. Please don’t see an 80 next to my name and assume I am Superman. Kill target will be skull, kindly focus on it. I am here learning how to tank, so if anything I may go a bit slower than most. If thats a problem please let me know now and I will leave so you can find a more suitable tank.

I gave it a good amount of thought, but decided against it, although I did write the macro.

.

I thought about rolling a new character, starting over as it were.

A new character to see all the newness Blizzard is about to throw our way.

.

Now this is something I already planned to do. I have names picked out for races and classes I want to try. 

I took a look at my list and one by one came up with reasons I could not yet create them.

Some, obviously, are planned to be Goblin and Worgen. A Goblin Shaman and a Worgen Druid to be precise.

Those are not happening till next month.

Then came the others. Dwarven Shaman, Gnome Priest, Tauren Paladin, Undead Hunter (since scratched from my list). All of them are in limbo awaiting the next patch.

Might be next week, might, but probably not. Since Blizz has said that the world will get its new maps and be redesigned when that patch goes live, I assume it will be more towards the end of the world event.  My guess is 25% Nov 23rd / 75% Nov 30th.

There was one on my list though, one that I could make now.

A Human Paladin.

So I did.

.

A few days and seventeen levels later I am having an absolute blast.

I had no idea that playing a melee class could be this much fun. It’s like I am running around with a giant S on my chest and nothing can stop me.

Accidentally pull a 20 elite at 15? No problem, I don’t even think I used a potion. 

Grab three 19 elites at 17? even when one is a runner and brings back friends? Done and done.

There might be something to be said for all that talk of Pallies being cockroaches that some famous blogger guy has said over the years.

I started tanking low level instances and I am having a blast doing it.

I think I might just have found my place.

.

Tonight I think I will jump online, strap that giant S on my chest again, and go try to solo Deadmines at level 17, just to see if I can.

I think I can pull it off, how about you?

.

11 Responses

  1. [...] I’m not the only one enjoying the low-level paladin experience. Dechion has been having fun on one as [...]

  2. Kinda funny … The Rake was one of the very first pets I ever tamed.

    Pallies are a lot of fun. I started a new one just to see what it’s like to level with something other than judgement and autoattack from the beginning.

  3. After deleting my toons in January I came back to the game and got my 80 Priest and Shaman back with no gear, not good for playing. My DK was 79 when 4.0.1 hit and I’d tanked my way through all the instances to that point. When the patch hit it really changed how a DK tank plays and I’m not sure I like it TBH. I have created a number of alts and at the moment am having a lot of fun with my Subtlety Rogue. Ambush generally one shots mobs of my level and I am a tank’s nightmare in instances for the burst DPS I currently do. Melee DPS is the one role I haven’t really played yet (Disc Priest at 80, Ele Shaman at 80, Blood Tank DK at 80). While I do like my fledgling Belf Lock and Mage I think I might stick with the Rogue for a bit.

  4. [...] I’ve seen some comments out there since the Patch came out, and it seems that responses are a bit mixed. As one example, Dechion, a long time devotee of the Hunter class, is so unhappy with the overall changes that he just can’t bring himself to play his Hunters anymore. He’s moved on to other classes. [...]

    • Um, yea.

      Um, Like, go read this and stuff…..

      Seroiusly, BBB makes a very well written point about why old timers like myself might have a harder time adapting to the change. Hell, he even gave me a few Ideas on how to get back to Huntering.

      If they pan out I am totally buying him the beverage of his choice.

  5. “The point is I have given up on my Hunters, at least for now”

    Sorry to hear that because while focus is annoying to adjust to BM is finally doing raid worthy damage and MM is now a great spec for BGs (speccing into Concussive Barrage for unlimited stuns). Plus spirit beasts now heal for 12k every 26 seconds. Seems to me this is the best time to be a hunter ever.

    BTW Elemental Shammies are fun their rotation at 80 is really similar to BMs. Plus in a pinch you can tank, DPS, and Heal all in the same fight.

    • I honestly think my problem, as very eloquently put forth by BBB, is one of being almost too familliar with the class. I have been playing Hunters so long it’s almost like my subconcious is playing for me now.

      Kind of like when I am driving a car and I don’t have to think about what to do to make it happen any more, I just think which way I want to go and how fast, and my body makes it happen.

      That is why I plan to first level the Pally I am playing with my kids to 80 (or 85) and then level a shiny new Hunter and Druid.

      If I give myself time to shift out of my paradigm I probably will be able to adapt, to come home as it were, and find the love again.

      It feels almost like I am looking at my Hunters and telling them “it’s not you, it’s me. I just need some space, M’kay?”

  6. “Hello, I will be you tank for the run. Please don’t see an 80 next to my name and assume I am Superman. Kill target will be skull, kindly focus on it. I am here learning how to tank, so if anything I may go a bit slower than most. If thats a problem please let me know now and I will leave so you can find a more suitable tank”

    You might get comments along the lines of “TL-DR” Too long, didn’t read.

    With my warrior and DK tank, when I first started doing heroics, I just had a macro that said “Hey everybody, I’m not ICC geared on this alt yet, please watch your threat a little more closely and we’ll do fine.”

    Most groups were silent, so I went ahead and tanked, and generally didn’t have a problem.

    What helped me was just playing in tanking spec while questing for a while, and gathering as many mobs as I could handle while doing the quests.

    • Lol, true enough.

      I actually edited the macro before I used it for the first time. It now goes more like:

      Hiyas, I am new to tanking. Give me a sec to gather everything up and piss them off before you nuke them, start with the skull, and lets have fun.

      I also looked at leveling prot being a good way to get familliar with the spec. Soloing instances helps out a lot as well, as I learn the pulls and how to manage my cooldowns with no one to fall back on.

  7. Funny, paladin is my main and I think I’m done. The system is easy enough to get use to, but I guess I expected more and not just a copy-paste of a rogue. My dps in heroics was higher in heroics even before the buff they released, but I think the unoriginality is disappointing.

    I’ve been playing my mage (fire) when I do bother. I haven’t played with her since the nerf though. I’ve also been playing my 47 elemental shammy. With her, I just sign up for randoms and wait. I am leveling pretty fast this way and the play style hasn’t changed much.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 483 other followers

