Oooooo! What does this button do?


Meet Lidocane.

Lidocane

Death Knight who loves to pick flowers.

Tank who’s never tanked an instance.

Long time banker for team Dechion.

Once upon a time I decided I wanted to make a fortune as a scribe. I would pick flowers and make glyphs. I wouldn’t be making a lot on any one glyph, but if I kept a good variety up for sale I’d slowly make enough money to get by.

Making enough, that’s a good title for another post. Brb, jotting down the title.

Alrighty, I’m back sporting a fresh cup of coffee and ready to go.

Where were we?

Ah yes, Lidocane.

You see, I started this Death Knight exclusively to be a money-maker. I played thru the starting zone, and then flailed away at a few quests in Hellfire Peninsula (the zone I love to hate). The moment I hit level 60 I dropped all my quests, trained flight, and proceeded to pick flowers all the way to 85.

With that huge stockpile of inks I made enough money that I had enough to get by for a good couple of years.

The point is, when I decided that I really wanted to level Lidocane the right way, questing my way from 85 to 90. I’m having a blast actually, wondering why it took me so long to actually play this character.

So there I was, in a set of level 85 PvP blues that I had a friend craft for me to replace my Hellfire greens staring at my screen wondering how the hell I was going to do this.

I quite literally said “Oooo, what does this button do?” like the idiot sister from Dexter’s Lab.

I’m probably still doing it kinda wrong, since I didn’t study rotations or anything along those lines. I just divided my buttons up into 4 groups.

Group 1: Buttons that hurt things.

Group 2: Buttons that make me harder to kill.

Group 3: Buttons that heal me.

Group 4: Everything else.

I put groups 1, 2, and 3 on my action bars and commenced to flailing away at the bad guys in the Jade Forest.

Yep, I’m doing it wrong. My spec isn’t optimal, my gear is a mess, my UI would probably make a veteran DK player cringe. Guess what?

I don’t give a rats ass.

I’m noobing my way thru this and having more fun than I have in years!

It took abandoning every class I have ever seriously played to remind me that I don’t have to play seriously.

The key word is play, not seriously.

It’s a game, I’m playing, and I’m having a blast.

That, my friends, is what actually matters.

One Response

  1. Fuckin’ A, Bubba.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 484 other followers

