Random ramblings on rapid respecs


A few days ago I wrote a post about the coming of dual talent specs and how I thought it would bring more versatility to the game. I looked at this as a way to make yourself more versatile within a group and at the same time have a spec for solo play. A well written post at Blessing of Kings, along with the commentary that went with it brought up a very different perspective.

Being able to change specs is nothing new, even mid run its nothing new.  As the game sat yesterday (before they took it down to change the world) a player could be ported to a city, respecced, and summoned right back to the instance. It happens, but not often. The reason for that? Respecs are not cheap. 

Will the same type of guilds that currently force a player to have a certain spec in order to raid now force two specs?

I am still trying to wrap my head around the long term implications of this change. Looking more at it I can see that while I personally would not be guilded with a group that tried to force me to spec a certain way I can see that some would. They would sacrifice their non raiding fun on the altar of progression. Even then the player can still respec one of their trees during non-raid days to be able to do other things.

The player that gets forced now will get forced then. Therefore they are no worse off. The player that simply can’t afford to swap back and forth will get the benefit. In short not everyone wins, but nobody loses.

To call it game changing is an understatement, but I think there is a lot more going on with this than I am seeing.

For the same reasons that I can’t come right out and say “Potion sickness will destroy raiding” or “My class got nerfed, all the others are OP” I can’t really make judgments on how some of the changes will effect the game. I also realise that all my perceptions are based on the game I am used to at level 70. The changes they are putting out are balanced for level 80, I need to try to remember that. I also need to remember that we do not have all the data yet.

Will swapping specs have a cost? Not likely, but unknown.

Will there be a cooldown? Unknown, however early statements would indicate a short one if any.

Will you need to swap out gear? Most likely to make a good showing of it. The new spellpower system will help healing type casters, but you will likely be gemmed and enchanted differently for different roles.

What I need to remember is that Blizzard has a lot more information on the way the game mechanics work than I do. They have both the solid data on where it is now, and the vision of where we are going. I simply have to trust that they will not put something this big into the game without putting measures in place to limit any damage it might cause.

Now that is the last I will say about dual specs until we have more hard data. I don’t want to look months into the future right now, I want to look at this afternoon. The world is down, the patch is being applied. I need to go spend some quality time with Wowheads talent calculator and figure out what I am going to be later today. The future will take care of itself.

Get ready for Echoes of Doom.

It’s a brave new world out there, go grab a hunk.

Leave a Reply

