Thirteen Tidbits


Fair warning, I have not yet had my morning coffee. I am sick, grumpy, and stuck going to work anyway because calling in this time of year, while technically allowed, is not really a good option.

Since I can’t seem to string two coherent thoughts together long enough to write a post about any one of them. I think I will just post a few little tidbits this morning. These are just random thoughts right as they came off the top of my head. Don’t believe me? Well look here *points* there is a bald spot where they took off.

“It’s not a bald spot, it’s a launching pad for thoughts!” Not bad, it might make a decent T-shirt when it grows up.

So here are my incoherent ramblings, in no particular order.

1.Just in case anyone was wondering, yesterdays post on what gear I had when I dinged 80 is far from a recommended gearing guide. It just represents what I had on when I got there.

2. The gear guide is coming, but it takes more time to write it than I want to think about right this second. Think sometime in the next day or three I’ll get the first post up. I plan to do it as a per-slot breakdown.

3. I really think Blizzard made a mistake with professions. They made it into nothing more than another grind. It always was a tad expensive in both time and money to level one to the cap, there should be a reward there. Now there is no reward for maxing anything out, and honestly no real reason to.

4. I had every intention of leveling both my hunters to 80, now I am kinda failing to see a reason. Since all professions are pretty much equal the old “one for farming and one for raiding” plan is kinda out the window.

5.Totally random thought…. both my hunters are Dreanei and on the same server, I wonder if I can just swap names and appearances between the two. I planned to make Dechion my main on Draenor, that way he could be 80 already while Drupadi went back and finished leveling again.

6.Getting Dechion to 80 that way just seems wrong, but is probably doable.  *jots note on post-it* remind myself to call Blizz when I get home. Not sure if I want to do it yet, but definitely certain that I am curious.

7. Don’t look at me like that. Everyone knows Curiosity was framed…. Stupidity killed the cat.

8.Actually the cat hit disengage while his back was to a cliff, but that’s another story. The moral of that story? If at first you don’t succeed cliff diving is not for you.

9. Other than leveling a Death Knight (or other alt) what reason does anyone have to go to Outlands anymore? I was in Shattrah yesterday and it felt like an episode of the Twilight Zone. There was literally no one there. I kept waiting for the zombies to come out of hiding or something. It was creepy.

10.The Slowmaster 9000 coffee pot has finally seen fit to be done making coffee. Not quite sure why it takes 25 minutes to brew a pot, but at least it tastes good.

11.Winter veil started yesterday, and after reading up on it I decided to abandon both this holiday and the meta achievement “What a long strange trip its been”. I despise being forced to PvP for things like this. *Happy holidays, put on festive clothing and go kill people*

12. Worse than forced PvP is a holiday rep grind. These characters are re-rolls, they never did the Og’rilla prequests or early rep grind to open up the “Bomb them again” quest. New players will have a heck of a time getting a group for this, as will Death Knights. Yet another fail on Blizzards part in my opinion.

13.The final reason to abandon it is the last title I would be able to get. Brewmaster is required, yet I did not join the brew of the month club last year. Even if I did every other achievement between now and then I would be left waiting for a year to pass, checking my mailbox once a month for my brew. I would finally complete the achievement in September 2010.

12 Responses

  1. *shares coffee and doughnuts*

    I agree with you on professions. I have been wondering why in the heck I bothered specializing my leatherworking these days. All the original specialized patterns are shared now, and the ones I got in BC weren’t worth the bother to make. I’m sure that some people got good use out of them, but not I, says the cat. Not like the tailors got use out of their spellweave or whatever outfits.. hubby was wearing his well into T5 content. And now there’s nothing on the dragonscale vendor in Dalaran, and nothing on the special pattern vendor that says “Dragonscale Leatherworking”. Why, Blizzard, WHY?
    I felt that it was next to useless before, now I’m really feeling like I got the short end of the stick. But with all the time and money I have invested in it, I am loath to change to something different. I keep hoping that they’ll do something about it.

    Sorry I got off on a tangent there! Hope you feel better soon!

  2. worry not, coffee and doughnuts are on the way.

  3. lol Dech, the Curiosity line killed me!

    I agree on the Winter Veil title. I don’t mind the pvp bit, it actually helps, noone can see I’m a healer right away…lol but the rest, yeah, epic fail.

  4. Quick note on #5 and 6. I called Blizz a few minutes ago and found out that swapping names between two characters cant be done without either

    A) deleting one of the characters or

    B) waiting out the 30 day cooldown on naming and doing a paid name change at that point, while hoping no one else grabs it first.

    Since I am not willing to pull the trigger on a level 63 just to swipe his name, and I am unwilling to roll the dice on someone else grabbing the name Dechion, it looks like I am stuck leveling whether I am in the mood or not.

    Or I can just gear Drupadi to be my raiding main and level Dech at my leisure as my farmer.

    Dammit this is too much thinking for a tuesday morning.

  5. I am almost exactly where you are with the World Event achievements.

    I suffered the PvP at Halloween because it didn’t seem that bad to do it once, especially not after the sheer torture I suffered trying to get the Sinister Squashling. And I thought it would be a one-time thing. But I really disliked it.

    But for Winter Veil there is yet more PvP! Will I have to do this each holiday? (I suppose I could look ahead and see, eh?) The Ogri’la grind I was intending to do eventually, although I didn’t really want to do it right this instant.

    But the thing that broke my back for these achievements, so to speak, is the damned Winter Hat. I have an RP tailor who made Winter Clothes (and loves them, the little exhibitionist), and I traded some for Winter Boots. But as far as I can tell, in order to get a Winter Hat of any color I am going to have to run a Northrend instance. And since I am a dedicated terrible player who only solos … it’s going to be painful. Exceedingly painful. Probably impossible.

    I get the feeling that the original world event achievements were planned to let all player types have things they could enjoy from each holiday. And that’s a good thing! But then they came through with the meta achievement and suddenly that broad set of options became a mandate to play in all of the approved ways every holiday … which is just tiresome if you don’t happen to enjoy all of those playstyles.

    And yeah, none of this is required. I don’t have to do any of these things I don’t want to do. But I usually really love holiday events. And I figured this was my only chance to get a 310% mount. The entire thing just rubs me the wrong way.

  6. @Mania – I don’t know if they’ve changed it for this year, but in years past the Winter hats dropped from random world mobs (that’s how I got my first one, from a mob near Auberdine), and also several of the classic WoW instance bosses. The guy in Scholomance is the one that comes to mind first. I don’t know that Scholo is soloable yet, but my hubby and I duo’ed it with my hunter and his warlock in recent history. 🙂

  7. Asara: According to the research I’ve done online, Blizzard either removed the hats from the Classic and TBC dungeons, or they only drop from those bosses for ‘level-appropriate’ characters. Certainly I’ve found no evidence that a level 80 character can get a hat from Scholomance this year. (And I was looking forward to that too — I’ve never been in Scholomance.)

    Which leaves me farming random humanoids … except I don’t know if Blizzard is using the same theoretical tech for world mobs or not. If so, I need to be farming level 80 humanoids, which isn’t my favorite thing to do right now. (I had been working on picking up the quests I missed in Kalimdor, which I am finding quite fun.)

    I dunno. I’m just generally feeling confused and stupid about it. A few days off will probably change my attitude. I don’t normally like to rant like this, which is why I am inflicting in on Dechion’s blog and not my own. *grin*

  8. […] But I can’t do that the first year anyway — since I didn’t join the Brewfest Beer of the Month Club — and some of the achievements really rub me the wrong way. (I really don’t like to PvP at all, and I’ve been ranting shamefully about the stupid Winter Hats in the comments over at Dechion’s Place.) […]

  9. Mania – Well that sucks. And just for you, next time I’m on WoW, I’ll drag hubby in there and see what drops. Lord knows it won’t be the Beaststalker helm.. *grumble* But that’s a rant of mine for a different time and place XD
    Scholo is fun, it was my favorite “classic” WoW non-raid instance. Even if there’s no hats, I highly recommend a jaunt through! 🙂

  10. @mania: First off, I sympathize with you in regards to the Brew of the Month Club. I got it, as well as a few other guildies, but we quickly figured out it was essentially an hour’s worth of laughs every month, not exactly worth the time we spent to get the tokens. If it weren’t for that achievement, you would have most assuredly been better off.
    Now, in regards to the Winter Hats. Yes, they don’t drop in Scholomance anymore. Instead, they drop off of certain humanoid bosses in Northrend instances. To save you the trouble of looking, one drops off the first boss in Nexus, both regular and Heroic. In other words, if you’re level 70 and have a couple friends, you can be in and out in no time, and if you’re 80, just get someone to heal you and you can down her easy.
    Lastly, the PvP Achievement sounds outrageous, but it really isn’t. Have you tried Wintergrasp yet? I hate PvP, but this zone has captivated me; I love defending/conquering the castle every time the zone is up. Provided you don’t die, there’s also a lot of kills you can acquire. I got my Little Helper Achievement simply by driving around in a tank, blasting at the walls while the hardcore PvPers in the raid I joined killed people around me, giving me credit. Yeah, if they kill you, you lose the Little Helper buff and have to get it again, but hey, Dalaran has one of those machines to turn you into a dwarf, and the portal back to Wintergrasp is usually open after the fight’s been going on for 5-10 minutes.

  11. @Mania – I feel your pain on the whole achievement thing. I have decided my drake will come from doing the rep quests and dailies for. I am planning on a whole post ranting about the way this particular meta achievement is structured. I may look into other ways to get a drake that can be done solo as well.

    @Garyuumaru it’s not just the pvp for this particular achievement. Look further into it and you will find a pvp component of most, if not all, of the 10 holiday achievements. While Wintergrasp could be fun, most of the time you are forced into other things. As an example look at the whole stealing the fires thing, forcing you to go raid enemy capitols or abandon the whole meta achievement. Actually I sense a whole post coming about this topic.

  12. I agree strongly about the whole ‘who needs outland now’ thing, they need to include old expansions in the scope of the new ones, i.e. the older expansion should give in and admit that life outside of 50/60/70 does in fact exist and they need to cater for it or die like a shopping centre with a redundant populace.

    I levelled my LW to full whack, bandaging, skinning, fishing, also very close with cooking… what do I get for it? NADA! (except some warm inner glow from knowing I’m better than everyone 😉 ) joking aside (I’m not joking!) there should be some recognition for these ‘achievements’ they represent a lot of work, and should get some kind of reward, Ideally some extra ability or patterns related to the profession, or if that’s too much like a freebie, then at LEAST a title.

    I feel slightly ripped over the whole ‘Winter Veil’ thing, for some reason I have not had any snowflakes via kissing revellers for a whole week, and thus still have three outstanding Allied characters.

    Oh well, there is always EVE-Online, though I must admit initially I was very impressed with WotLK.

    p.s. Nice observation, I think 95% of the other PC’s I saw in Outland whilst levelling my DK, were other DK’s.

Leave a Reply

