My pre-Naxx Hunter gear


A quick note to those that Google has sent my way: This post was originally written in December of ’08 and a few things have changed since then. I have a post up now that is updated for 3.1 (soon to be redone for 3.2). The info here is still good for the most part, but you may want to check out the other as well. It can be found HERE.

 

A bit over a week ago a wrote up a post on what I was wearing when I hit 80. In that article I mentioned that I was going to try to get my hit rating up, my crit rating up, and generally increase my survivability for a raid environment.

As always I looked for ways I could get to where I wanted to be without relying on instance drops. Unless, of course, they are BOE and I can farm the Auction House for them. I also decided on a change in professions, dropping a very profitable Herbalisim in favor of a pretty much equally profitable Mining. Just selling everything I did not need that was mined while leveling my profession allowed me to buy all the dropped BOE’s on my list, and what I did keep was the majority of the mats for the other craftables.

I am not saying that this is for everyone, however it worked for me. I had every piece of this gear minus the cloak (which should be coming in the mail sometime soon) before ever stepping foot into a heroic instance. With a decent shot rotation I was able to put out over 1800 dps per recount in Heroic Violet Hold last night. This was with my farming build and an untested shot rotation, specced for instancing I should be able to put out a good bit more.

This is the gear I currently have equipped.

 

drupadi-pre-naxx1

 

Head  Swiftarrow Helm  (crafted Leatherworking)

With an Arcanum of ferocity on it from Cenerion Expedition (34 attack power 16 hit rating)

 

Neck Choker of the Betrayer  (quest reward from Betrayal in Zul’Drak)

Gemmed with a Jagged Forest Emerald

 

Shoulder Virulent spaulders (crafted Leatherworking)

With the 26 attack power glyph from the Aldor

 

Chest Razorstrike Breastplate (crafted Leatherworking)

With +8 to all stats

 

Back  Ice Striker’s Cloak (crafted Leatherworking)

Enchanted with Major Agility (+22 agility) 

 

Wrist Eaglebane Bracers  (crafted Leatherworking)

Enchanted with +38 attack power

 

Hands Rusted-link Spiked Gauntlets (BoE boss drop from Naxx, picked up in the AH)

Enchanted with Precision

Gemmed with a Delicate Scarlet Ruby
 

Waist Belt of Tasseled Lanterns (BoE world drop, got it in the AH)

Equipped with an Eternal Belt Buckle for the extra gem slot.

Gemmed with one Jagged Forest Emerald and one Perfect Jagged Dark Jade . I plan to replace the Perfect Dark Jade with a Vivid Forest Emerald once I get the Ebon Blade head enchant.

 

Legs  Giantmaim Leggards (crafted Leatherworking)

With a Icyscale armor kit equipped

 

Feet Dragonstompers (crafted Leatherworking)

Enchanted with Icewalker

 

Trinket 1 Fezzik’s Pocketwatch (quest reward from The Last Line of Defense in Icecrown)

 

Trinket 2 First Mates Pocketwatch  (quest reward from The jig is up in Howling Fjiord)

 

Ring 1   Signet of Bridenbrad (quest reward from Light within the darkness in Icecrown)

Gemmed with a Perfect Deadly Citrine that I picked up dirt cheap in the AH.

 

Ring 2 Ring of Indignant rage (quest reward from The assassination of Herold Lane in Borean Tundra)

 

Ranged Nesingwary 4000 (crafted Engineering, expensive but worth it)

Gemmed with a Rigid Autumn’s Glow  

Equipped with a Heartseeker scope

 

Melee  I am dual wielding Savage Cobalt Slicers

Both are enchanted with Greater Potency (+50 attack power)

 

My gear, like everyone elses, is a work in progress. 

I am still working on rep with the Knights of the Ebon Blade for my Dps head enchant, they also have some shoulders at revered that I would like.

I am also working on rep with the Argent Crusade. Originally for the Zombie Sweeper Shotgun at revered, I am now working on the Polished Regimental Hauberk at exalted.

While I am at it I might as well work on Sons of Hodir (I need to start that one) for my shoulder enchant.

Then possibly work on Kirin tor for a set of boots, unless something drops for me before that.

That helm the oracles have a at revered would be a bit of an upgrade.

After I am done with all that…….. yeah, you get the idea.

4 Responses

  1. Trinket 1 – box of horrors – only procs from melee according to wowhead. You will want to upgrade it if so.

  2. @Evilbeast Thanks for the heads up, for some reason I could have sworn that said “Melee and Ranged” but not so much.

    I headed to the bank, grabbed out Fizzik’s Pocketwatch to replace it, updated the original post, and updated the image while I was in the neighborhood.

  3. My hunter has the Tiny Box of Horrors and I can assure you that it does proc on ranged attack. And quite often too 🙂

  4. looks like I was misled by the tooltip. Apparently both the tiny box of horrors and the mirrior of truth had their tooltips fixed at some point since I wrote this.

Leave a Reply

