Fire or Frost, I wonder…..

I decided to do something new.

I have been playing Hunters as my primary class for the last three years. I have leveled a priest to 80 as well, but mostly because one was needed. I can heal. In fact, I do a pretty good job of it. Then again I can paint my house pretty good too, doesn’t mean its my favorite thing in the world to do.

I enjoy playing as Dps. I dual specced my priest Shadow/Holy just for that reason. I heal when needed, I just prefer Dps. Well, I decided to try out a different class. Something I have never run with before.

Lately I have been doing a ton of reading about Mages.

They look fun, so I rolled one.

It was fun, so I rolled another.

You see, I play on two different servers. Each one has a level 80 raid ready character (although RL has kept me from raiding for several months now) and a level 70 alt. Now they both sport a lowbie Mage as well. This put me in an interesting position to try and answer a question about leveling a Mage. Namely whether Frost or Fire is better for leveling.

Everything I read says frost has better survivability while fire kills faster. What I want to know is this, over the long haul will the extra survivability of frost outweigh the faster killing of fire? Will the speed of fire more than make up for the extra corpse runs?

I am in a unique position to answer this one.

I will level them both separately, one as fire and one as frost. We will look at where they are when they start and how things go along the way. I will also link both armory profiles in my sidebar. Actually Dechion is up already, Dech will go up after he hits level 10.

As with any good experiment though it needs some rules.

Both will start at level 20 fully rested when patch 3.2 hits, parked in a resting place as close as possible to where they would get their mount.

Dechion (Sidhe Devils, Keal’thas) will level frost.

Dech (Abyss, Draenor) will level fire.  

They will both be tailor/enchanters, and both will be at 225/225 before I start.

Neither one will fish or cook, but they may use buff food provided by each servers cook.

Their farming will be done by other toons, as will their AH work. They just level.

I will only level them when they are rested to keep it as fair as possible.

They will both have a set of the leveling shoulders, but neither gets the leveling chest or any other heirloom.

I should also level through the same areas, I just have not decided which yet.

 

So tell me, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 484 other followers