My Druid is Sticky.


Of late I have been doing a lot of thinking. 

Thinking about the game, about my friends that also play it, and about my place in the World of Warcraft. 

. 

Raiding is simply not in the cards for me due to scheduling issues. Battlegrounds are something I do only rarely, and I despise the Arena. (Props to those that enjoy it, I simply am not one of them.) 

This leaves me with running heroics and questing as ways to spend my time. 

Quite frankly I have been bored out of my skull. 

. 

I have run Heroics on both my Hunter and Priest until there was little if anything left for them there. They both hover just under a 5,000 Gearscore. (I despise it, but that’s the epeen scale currently in use.) Suffice it to say that they are more than geared for the coming expansion. 

Keep in mind that the 81-85 instances, at least the normal modes, will be tuned for players in quest gear. These guys are well beyond that. I can (and might) instance them all the way to 85, likely never seeing an upgrade till I get to heroics. 

With all that in mind, and after reading the class previews, I decided to change main for the coming expansion. 

I had been planning on a Worgen Druid since… about 17 seconds after they were revealed at Blizzcon last year. 

I went ahead and started playing him, the character that will one day be a Worgen is for now a Night Elf. 

. 

Giligan has changed a bit since this screenshot, but like many dads I don't take pictures often enough.

. 

Giligan is sitting at level 35 now, having done the last 20 levels as a healer in LFD randoms. I am actually having a good time again, so much so that I hardly log into my 80’s anymore. 

A friend made a comment about how I seem to be shaking everything up, trying to find the fun in the game once again. He’s more right than he knew. 

He referred to it as “throwing everything up and keeping what sticks.” 

Something to do with just finding what makes you happy and sticking with it, That each individual is responsible for their own fun, and no one elses. 

So far the Druid has stuck. 

I hope it stays that way. 

. 

Now it I could just get that friend of mine to heed his own advice… 

. 

 

11 Responses

  1. OK – you need to find a white cloth hat and a red shirt for your druid named Giligan. Just got to. lol

    I really enjoy my druid a lot as well – particularly playing as resto. I’ve been trying to level more characters through the looking for group system, but I just find I can’t stick with it for very low. The experience and leveling speed is just too low compared to questing and there are some points in the leveling process where I just can’t take the same instance again. Blackrock Depths seems to pop up constantly from about level 52 on, and I just can’t handle that much of that place – in any class.

  2. I’ll second the red shirt and white hat. Just saying.

    The Resto Druid is the only healing class I’ve really been able to get into. I’ve had a blast healing on my druid (Hotstuffbaby), and here recently I’ve given both Feral and Balance a shot to see if they fit my taste better or not. So far I like the other two, but I’m not nearly as thrilled about them as I am resto. I’m really surprised I’ve been able to get into healing as much as I have and enjoy it this much.

    I’m in my mid 40’s right now so no Tree form yet, so the removal of the form in Cat doesn’t mean much to me as I don’t have any problems at all healing right now. If anything I have more problem getting people to do big enough pulls that I actually go below 80% mana if nothing else.

    I’m digging it, and I hope it stays that way for you as well. Oh, and Worgen Druid was pretty well solidified the second they mentioned it for me too.

  3. Lol, excellent idea.

    I guess i’ll be spending some time on Wowhead trying to find a red shirt and a white hat. Possibly some blue pants a well for a screenshot or two =)

  4. Hah…right there with you. I log in to raids on raid nights; the other nights, I might run a heroic or some dailies for cash. The rest of the time? Leveling alts. (I have a 77 hunter, 76 rogue, and my current favorite is my 37 enhancement shammy I’ve been playing the last couple weeks.)

    The shaman–wow, I can’t remember when I had so much fun in the game! (Probably doing the WotLK expansion quests from 70-80 the first, or maybe second, time.) I much prefer DPS to healing, even though my raider is a Disc Priest. And I love both my hunter and my rogue (both of whom have done minimal raiding). And an Enhancement Shaman combines the best of BOTH: Ranged DPS via spells, and melee for most of the damage. Now, if only Worgen could be Shamans…

  5. /gasp! That’s not a Tauren!

    Glad to see that you’re having fun in the game! Cause that is the point of it all! 🙂

  6. My druid stole my heart the first day I played her, frolicking through Mulgore. I enjoy my other characters but there is nothing better than logging on Lufitoom. Now she is a Night Elf and I am still smitten.

    I rarely raid. My skillscore (LMAO) is 5891 or something in PvP gear and I love it. I am not a fan of arenas either but they seem to be a necessary evil for me to get the gear I need for my style of play.

    I am sure that you will continue to love your druid. I am boomkin and tree (equally geared) and I never get tired of it.

  7. […] few days ago, Dechion mentioned the idea of "throwing everything up and keeping what sticks." (I bet now the pic of some sticky hand things makes sense.) Twice now, I’ve basically gone […]

  8. […] It’s my Druid you see. The one that is so sticky. […]

  9. […] I'm halfway between frustrated and bored. Maybe I just need a week off or something.A few days ago, Dechion mentioned the idea of "throwing everything up and keeping what sticks." (I bet now the pic of some sticky hand things makes sense.) Twice now, I've basically gone through […]

Leave a Reply

