Ignorance would have been better.


There is something about my Druid.

Something odd.

I started this character with plans to be a healer. In fact, my original plan was to attempt to make it all the way to 80 without ever killing anything.

I was going to do delivery and discovery for XP until I reached 1o, BG healing till 15, and then instance healing till 80.

That simply did not pan out the way I wanted it to. In an instance, from time to time, even the healer needs to do a bit of killing. After all, it’s a group effort. If I could prevent a wipe by breaking my own rules then it would not be fair to my team not to.

I believe I can flyyyyy

Anyway, the issue here has nothing to do with how I leveled, though for the most part it was through instances.

The issue here is healing in general.

The more I read about the way things are going in Cataclysm for healers in general and my Druid in particular, the less I want to be a healer.

For starters Blizzard, in their infinite wisdom, has decided that Druids no longer deserve to have the Tree of Life form. Well, guess what? I despise the male Night Elf form. If I had my choice (while staying Alliance) I would have chosen another race.

In fact, the only thing about any race that annoys me more than the NE male is the swirling crossbow thing Draeni males do.

Hey, personal preference right? I’m sure some folks love the stuff I don’t.

My point is I was able to simply stay in a form at all times and I would never have to deal with that which annoyed me. In the same way that I will run a level 1 Draeni Hunter all the way to Darnassus to train for the bow and ship him one, just so I never had to see that annoying crossbow spin thing.

I suppose now I’ll just have to drop the $15 on a character recustomization after Cata hits and make him a Worgen. At least if I have to look at him I would be less annoyed.

For a while yet, I can still be a tree.

Besides, I’ll be able to make an emote macro for peeing on trees to annoy my fellow Druids with…

 The issues I have with cosmetics are, as I said, a $15 fix. The issues with the whole vibe I am getting from the way healing is going to work are not so easy to address.

I don’t like the idea of doing damage to regen mana. I can’t put it any simpler than that.

I play a healer because I want to heal. If I wanted to be a damage dealer then I would spec Balance or Feral. Hell, if I just wanted to kill bad guys I would play my Hunter. At least then I would only have to farm one gear set.

.

The long and the short of this is that the more I read the more I am really not that excited about getting my Druid to 80 anymore. 

It’s kind of a shame really, I am still healing and questing in between runs.

I made 77 last night. 

I’m almost there.

Right now I am just telling myself to finish the push to 80, spec into Balance and Feral, and go park him in Auberdine or Southshore waiting for the end of the world.

The more I read though, the more I’m tempted to just go back to playing one of my Hunters.

I's like a Rogue mon.. all my enemies die from poisioning. Traumatic lead poisioning.

They might be getting a top to bottom rebuild, but at least the job description won’t be changing.  It is still “blow holes in the bad guy while you pet chews his left butt cheek off, stopping from time to time to trap something.”

At no point are they going to make me go heal folks to regen the focus to do my job.

Or will they?

.

14 Responses

  1. Bears are also going to have to heal to gain rage. Fret not, they don’t have to leave bear form! In fact, the healing spell you have to use is exclusive to bears. It’s called “Lick Your Cub’s Wounds”. The only downside is they have to be in melee range…

    But seriously, I’m not sure if those changes are going to make healing more fun or so frustrating that we’ll have even less healers out there.

  2. In my case I would say more frustrating.

    Here’s and interesting question that just came to mind, if mana is only returned on a successful attack, at what point will stacking spell hit be more important than spellpower?

    Hell, don’t I already have enough stats to balance around?

    *boggles at way to much frickin math*

    • Very good point. Probably something close to DPS – stack hit until capped.

      Frustrating, indeed.

      Sure, I get it that people may have complained about healing being boring with easier content, but are healers really complaining about how “easy” healing the LK is? Or is healing challenging enough for level/gear appropriate situations? I don’t know about you, but it’s challenging for me.

  3. Maybe I’ve missed something, but where is it indicated that we’ll have to do damage to regen mana? Mana gain still seems to be coming from Meditation (mastery) and Revitalize (when Lifebloom or Regrowth ticks crit). There are a few spells in the healing trees for all classes that have damage components, but I think those are aimed more at PVP and adding something interesting for leveling and soloing.

    • I could have sworn that one of the posts I read this week quoted a blue post (and linked it) that involved having healers Dps in between heals “to give them something more to do than stare at green bars”.

      I believe the driving force to be used was mana regen through the Dps, otherwise no one would waste the mana and global cooldowns Dpsing when the plan is to make mana conservation/regen a major part of Cataclysm healing.

      Unfortunately I cannot seem to find that post amongst the 450 that were in my feed reader when I returned from sick leave.

      If anyone stumbles across it, please drop a link in here.

  4. The day I bought dual specialization and tried tree for the first time was the day my druid became my main. Since that time I’ve worked on her achievements (she’s my first loremaster and has 97/100 mounts for instance) and geared her kitty, landscape, and pvp sets without a second thought.

    But even without the healing changes (which I hate) just the loss of tree form saddens me so much that my hunter is standing in line to become my new main.

    Tree form, we hardly knew ye.

  5. “In fact, the only thing about any race that annoys me more than the NE male is the swirling crossbow thing Draeni males do.”

    lolololol

  6. i also am sad to see tree form become a CD. however, i happen to like the dreanai swirly crossbow XD

  7. I, also, hate the Night Elf Male casting animations. Night Elf females have decent “beneficial” cast animations, but horrid “offensive” cast animations.

    Sadly, the Worgen casting animations are – if anything – WORSE than NE animations.

    My Druid probably won’t heal again, except in emergency PvP situations.

    I do, however, forever have my Teldrassil Seedling to follow me around and remind me of how awesome I used to be.

  8. I enjoyed playing the Druid levelling in Dungeons as Feral in Catform, however when tanks or healers left the group the others would automatically assume the Druid could take over.
    I left him at 50 something, see even my interest has gone…

    I came as DPS for a reason and already having other toons for healing and tanking I didn’t want to change my game but this is not good enough for those tiresome people who think they are special to write abusive comments in chat.
    The chat never bothered me but getting kicked for not wanting to change style well that just annoyed me.

    I too am sad to see the tree form gone, my Pug will have to use the mailboxes now….!
    From what I read it was because people complained about not being able to see their cool new gear. Blizz could have just added an in game option like the show helm, cloak maybe.

    • There’s been talk (nothing official) about using a minor glyph to show tree form. I would have prefered a minor glyph to show non-tree form for those who wanted it.

    • Well, It would certainly be worth a minor glyph slot in my book.

      I think Bliz would be surprised how many restos would opt for it. I might be wrong, but with any luck we shall see.

  9. I’m feeling similarly.

    Top it off: I was going to make my NE druid into a Troll Druid on down the line. Then I saw the Troll Druid forms.

    Now, I’m not a Feral druid. My druid is Boomkin/Resto.

    But have you SEEN those terrible photoshop cut and paste rave kid acid trip train wrecks?

    I will NOT give up my lovely sleek Nelf cat form for a pile of crayon shaving vomit.

    My poor, poor druid.

Leave a Reply

