Unicorn, the breakfast of champions


Once upon a time in the far off land of Blogosphere a blogger named Bre talked of a Unicorn.

Not the one you are thinking, the white horse with the horn on its head, but using it in the abstract. Something desirable, something to strive for, something you are never really sure you will find.

Kinda like whatever is causeing the damn rattle in the back of my truck.

Though, Bre is a Hunter. If that horse existed as a super rare spawn tamable mount you can bet she would be hunting for it.

Hell, I would too. Thats besides the point though.

.

I was sitting this morning thinking about the new Undead Hunter I am planning to level as soon as they become availible. This will be next Tuesday if the rumor mill is correct, I hope they are. He is already as real as any of my characters to me.

.

He already has a name…

Decado, named after the first Hunter I ever rolled. (Who now goes by the name of Dekado, he lost the spelling in a server transfer)

.

He already has a look…

I went and flashed through all the different Forsaken looks until I settled on what his would be.

.

He already has his starting gear…

Heirlooms, Enchanted Whites, Bags and cash all waiting on my bank alt to send him as soon as he awakens in the Sephlecur.

.

And last but not least, he already has his first Unicorn. His first goal that he is unsure of reaching…

At level 20 he will make his way through the ruins of Darkshore to tame the pet that will see him to level 85.

A fitting partner for the Hunter freshly back from the dead, it is a ghost itself.

A Ghost Sabre.

.

Why is it his Unicorn you ask?

Why might it be so hard to find?

Because I am not even sure they will still be there a week from now.

.

I suppose time will tell.

.

15 Responses

  1. I ain’t selling any!

  2. Gah, your hidden message was taunting me for like five whole minutes this morning.

  3. if there was a unicorn in a game, i’d be tempted to play 🙂

    • There is one thats kinda close, but they screwed it up by making it a one horned zebra of all things.

      Might as well have ake it a purple platypus.

  4. Is Decado named after the character from the david gemmell book King Beyond the Gate (or from one of the Skilgannon the Damned books by the same author) by any chance?

    Kudos if so – one of my favourite character’s I’ve ever encountered in fantasy literature. And a classic bit of Gemmell character writing.

    • Yes, in fact, he is.

      And in 4 years of play you are the first to mention it. Grats!

      Also, Dechion was actually named for the caracter Dekion, a fallen paladin turned into skeleton warrior in the ’80’s cartoon series “Dungeons ad Dragons” (I did not know the spelling at the time, so I guessed)

  5. “Yes, in fact, he is.

    And in 4 years of play you are the first to mention it. Grats!

    Also, Dechion was actually named for the caracter Dekion, a fallen paladin turned into skeleton warrior in the ’80′s cartoon series “Dungeons ad Dragons” (I did not know the spelling at the time, so I guessed)”

    yay ^^

    FIRST *coughs and blushes slightly* sorry.

    I really need to read that book again (and in fact, all of Gemmell’s books) David Gemmell was so good at writing flawed heroes – and Dec was one of his best, a warrior of such supreme skill that in his eyes he had ceased to be a warrior and became a murderer, because there wasn’t a man alive who could stand before him and live. SO he put down his sword and became a Monk. God I love characters like that (it’s much more interesting than I make it sound lol)

    cracking character. I need to start blogging again so I can talk about stuff like that lol.

    I didn’t know the D&D series reference, been too long since I watched it.

  6. Petopia suggests the Ghost Saber will still exist post-expansion, and still in Darkshore.

    For your sake, I hope that it’s true.

    • Everything I have found also says it should still be availible as well, including folks telling me they have seen and/or tamed it on both the PTR and the Beta.

      Here’s to crossing my fingers.

  7. I have tamed a Ghost Saber on the beta, so I’m fairly confident you will be okay.

    Northern Darkshore is more of a 10-15 region now, but there are still looters in the ruins, there are cat statues hidden among the stones, and clicking a cat statue still has a chance to summon a Ghost Saber (level 20).

  8. Well, if you don’t get yours, I’ll be sure to taunt you with mine. 😉

Leave a Reply

