And now for something completely different


I was talking with a good friend yesterday about things to do while we wait for the expansion to arrive. One thing she has mentioned more than a few times is broadening my horizons a bit. Trying different character classes on for size so to speak. I figured it couldn’t hurt to go play around a bit. If nothing else I would have a better handle on how the other classes worked when grouping with them.

My first character ever was a rogue. I managed to make it to level 6 or 8 before getting really frustrated with the combo points system. I remade a druid, making it to the mid 30’s (and not liking cat form much) before we moved servers. At this point I rolled my first hunter, he made it as far as Shade of Aran before my next reroll. Later we went alliance where I rolled and leveled both a priest and another hunter to 70. When I started leveling yet another hunter, she suggested I take a look at things from a different perspective.

So thinking back on my various failed and abandoned alts (they prefer to be called “higher level bank toons”) I realised the one class I had never tried to play was the warrior. I think I was simply worried that I would get forced into a tanking role if I did level the character, and I am not sure I would like that. Well, I was worried about getting pigeon holed as a healer with my priest too, but that another story. A stared at the character screen for a while, fussed with it, and then A shiny new warrior alt was born.

First impressions are good, I managed to make it to level 7 with no deaths, clearing the starter zone in a little under an hour. I then remembered the character my daughter was leveling on our linked accounts. At level 12 she had 5 free levels she could dump on me before I was to high for them to work. A quick friend summons to Darnassas later I was level 12, trained the new skills, picked up a pair of professions (Mining and Jewelcrafting) and headed back over to do me some questing in the area around bloodmyst isle.

I promptly realised that taking on equal level mobs while using gear meant for half my level led to several trips to the graveyard. I also found that if I got in over my head it was much harder to disengage than it was with either the hunter or the priest. Where I rarely used health pots on either of them, I found myself going through quite a few now. I find myself glad that I have Gift of the Naaru to put a HoT on myself when I pull more than one or two.

I suppose a trip to the auction house for some level 11 – 13 “of the bear” or “of the monkey” mail might be in order. I also just realised I have 3 talent points sitting there unspent, after I figure out where to put them those might help out as well. (leveling spec advice appreciated)

All in all I found that by doing something new without doing endless research first went a long way towards a fun evening. I ran around discovering new things without knowing what I was doing. It was an absolute riot, I spent my evening laughing at myself and shaking my head, looking once again through the eyes of a noob.

2 Responses

  1. Hey there! Been a fan of the site for a while. I also have a Draenei warrior that I finally got to level 23. Boy it was an epic journey, lemme tell ya.

    I have been leveling as a Fury warrior, and it’s been interesting. I put in my first 5 points into Cruelty. This allows me a 5% increased chance of getting critical strikes with melee weapons. Unbridled Wrath came next, with a full 5 points there as well. This talent allows you to gain rage with each melee strike. More rage = more ouchness.

    My next three talent points went straight into Improved Cleave. 120% dmg increase to Cleave… Wow! Yes please! Not sure where I am going next though…

    As for making sure you don’t die, I found that I was very squishy to two or more mobs, despite mail armor. I didn’t understand it. So I took measures to make sure that I could heal myself. Gift of the Naaru is a great HoT spell, and currently the only way to heal yourself inside of combat, unless you have pots available.

    I took Jewelcrafting as a profession, and I use the Rough Stone Statues to help heal me in combat as well, though sometimes they get wacked by the mob and dont do any good. First Aid is also a must have.

    If you’d like to check out my Warrior articles, head on over to my web blog and click the Warrior link. There’s only three articles there and only cover my rise to level 20, but I think they could be of help.

  2. Thanks for the heads up.

    I decided (apparently wrongly from everything I have read) to take a walk down the Arms tree first. I want to try out both of the Dps trees at least a bit, I figured I would go arms until patch 3.0 hits and use my free respec to go fury at that point.

    The jewelcrafting stone statues were also a big help with extra mobs, I just try to remember to thunderclap before dropping one. It keeps the mobs on me while my little buddy is shooting me with lazer beams of health.

    Over all, having a lot of fun with this toon, just tinkering around. I made 18 last night, and will likely try for 20 (for dual wield) within the next few days.

Leave a Reply

